- Places to visit in Kaleici – Kaleiçi
|1- Hıdırlık Tower||6- Clock Tower & City Walls||11- Hadrians Gate|
|2- The Korkut (Truncate Minaret) Mosque||7- Muratpaşa Mosque||12- The Suna İnan Kıraç |
|3- Iskele Mosque||8- Tek Kapılı Han |
|13- Atatürk House|
|4- Zincirkıran &|
Nigar Hatun Türbesi
|9- Demirciler Bazaar|
|5- Fluted Minaret |
|10- Dönerciler Bazaar|
- Plan of Kaleici – Kaleiçi
Download the Kaleiçi street plan to help you plan your route in the Kaleici – Kaleiçi
- About All Places of Kaleiçi
1- Hıdırlık Tower: (Turkish: Hıdırlık Kulesi) is a mausoleum (A.D. 1 or 2nd century) that took its shape by combining two different geometric shapes, built on square foundations with a cylindrical top. The whole structure is made of cutting block stone while the upper part of the cylinder-shaped body is made of rubble, stone, and brick. The number of Axe motif on both edges of the door is 12, which means the grave belongs to someone who is a member of the council. It was also used as a church, watchtower, etc. İn the period of Roman, Early Byzantine, Seljuk, and Ottoman.
2- The Korkut (Truncate Minaret) Mosque: The Kesik Minaret Cami (Broken Minaret Mosque), Korkut Cami or Cumanın Cami standing in the streets of Kaleiçi (Old Antalya) in southern Turkey, was originally built as a Roman temple in the 2nd century AD. In the 7th century, it was converted into a Byzantine church in honor of the Virgin Mary, but it was heavily damaged in the 7th century during the Arab invasions. In the 9th century, it was repaired again. The church was converted into a mosque when the Sultanate of Rum acquired Antalya in the early 13th century, which was when the actual minaret was added. In 1361, when the crusader king of Cyprus took Antalya from the Seljuks, it became a church again, only to become reconverted into a mosque during the rule of Sehzade Korkut. The main building was destroyed in a fire of them. 1800, but the minaret survived as the Kesik Minare.
3- Iskele Mosque: Come and peek in this 19th-century stone mosque. You’ll be surprised how little it actually is. It is a small mosque in the harbor.
4- Zincirkıran Mehmet Bey Türbesi & Nigar Hatun Türbesi: Built in 1502, it belongs to the wife of Sultan Beyazıd II and the mother of Prince Korkut. The Style is reminiscent of the Seljuk vault. it was constructed of
5- Fluted Minaret: Yivli Minaret, The symbol of Antalya, is the Seljukian monument of the 13th century. It was made by Sultan Alaeddin Keykubat I. (1219-1238). It was built on a square block stone and named after its eight semicircular fluted sections and turquoise ceramics. The Upper part was made of tiles and ornamented with light blue square stones with mosaic style. It has 39.62-meter height and 92 stairs to the top of the minaret. Minaret was restored in 1995 and 2010.
6- Clock Tower & City Walls: It is estimated that the Clock Tower was built during the region of II. Abdülhamid is located on the external walls in Kale Kapısı. It was built on a pentagonal base, has a square body. The body has four rows while there is a clock face between the first and second row on each side of the body. There is a big lancet window in the middle and two small lancet Windows on two sides between the top two rows. The dome cover, which was damaged by a storm in 1942, was made in the form of horoscope loopholes in 1945. The clock and dials are renewed as electronic clock recently. There are Saints, Mary and Jesus relieve and Greek writing on the bell and only the bell has reached today from the
7- Muratpaşa Mosque: It was commissioned by Murat Pasha of Karaman in 1570 and is covered with a high dome upon a ten-corner frame, with the inscriptions on its inner walls running all through the internal façade in a ribbon while presenting the most beautiful example of the Turkish-Seljuk art of calligraphy. The altar next to the marble pulpit worked with reliefs is a simple construction. The last congregation place is covered with three domes rising above pointed arches of colored stone on four round columns.
8- Tek Kapılı Han Vakıf Hamamı
9- Demirciler Bazaar
10- Dönerciler Bazaar
11- Hadrian’s Gate – The Three Gates: In ancient period, Hadrian’s Gate is the end of the road that comes from Side, Aspendos and Perge were built in 131-132 AD in honor of the Roman Emperor Hadrian Emperor Hadrian entered to Attaleia from this gate while he was visiting the cities of Pamphylia. There are two inscriptions, dedicated to Hadrian on the architraves of the door. The inscription was written in gold plated bronze letters, which are exhibited at the Berlin and Oxford Ashmmoulean Museum. “Lucia Sancta paid the cost of the tower” is written on the inscription (top of the Hellenistic bastion, left the side of the door.) Bastion, on the right side of the door, was repaired in the Seljuk period. There is an inscription, written in Seljuk sülüs, on the bastion. Hadrian’s Gate was repaired in 1961-62.
12- The Suna İnan Kıraç Kaleiçi Museum: The Saint George Church, according to its inscription written in Karamanlidika (Turkish in a Greek script), dates back to 1863. The abandoned church was used as a cotton warehouse until 1991 when İnan Kıraç bought the building as a gift for his wife Suna Kıraç for her 50th birthday. The church was restored in 1994, and since then a very distinguished and fine collection of Çanakkale pottery has been displayed in it. Nearby in the traditional Antalya house restored in 1996, various ethnographical objects are shown including those used in a pre-wedding ceremony (Kına Gecesi).
What are The Suna İnan Kıraç Kaleiçi Museum opening hours?
The Kaleiçi Museum is open to visitors every day except Wednesdays from 9 am to 6 pm. Atatürk House:
|The Suna İnan Kıraç Kaleiçi Museum Website||https://akmed.ku.edu.tr/en/|
13- Atatürk House: Atatürk’s House Museum is a national museum in Antalya, Turkey dedicated to the visits of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk to this city.
- How much money to spend in Kaleici – Kaleiçi?
|Hıdırlık Tower Entrance Fee: Free|
|The Korkut (Truncate Minaret) Mosque – (Kesik Minaret) Entrance Fee: Free|
|Iskele Mosque Entrance Fee: Free|
|Zincirkıran & Nigar Hatun Türbesi Entrance Fee: Free|
|Fluted Minaret (Yivli Minaret) Mosque Entrance Fee: Free|
|City Walls & Clock Tower Fee: Free|
|Muratpaşa Mosque Entrance Fee: Free|
|Tek Kapılı Han Vakıf Hamamı Entrance Fee: Free|
|Demirciler Bazaar Fee: Free|
|Dönerciler Bazaar Fee: Free|
|Hadrians Gate Fee: Free|
|The Suna İnan Kıraç Kaleiçi Museum Entrance Fee: 5TL|
|Atatürk House Entrance Fee: Free|
- How do I get to Kaleici – Kaleiçi by Public Transport? (by Bus, Metro, Tram, Train, Ferry, Cable Car)
|Kaleici – Kaleiçi Address||SELCUK DISTRICT, UZUN ÇARŞI ST, MURATPAŞA / ANTALYA|
|Kaleici – Kaleiçi Location||https://goo.gl/maps/71asCK4Tbd52|
- Kaleici – Kaleiçi Photos