THE FORTRESS OF RUMELI (RUMELIHISARI MUSEUM)

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) 23
  • What is The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum)?

Fortress Of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) is Fortress and Museum in Istanbul, Turkey.


  • History Of The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum)

It was built to the opposite of the Anadoluhisarı, on the narrowest place of the Bosphorus in order to control of the sea traffic and to conquer İstanbul (Constantinople) by Sultan Mehmed the second (Conquerant). It was accomplished between the months of April and August in 1452, in a very short time, only in 4 months. It is believed to be designed by the architect Muslihuddin Aga. The construction of the big tower on the seaside was accomplished under the supervision of Vezir Saruca Pasha, the tower in the south-west supervision of Zaganos Pasha. Sultan Mehmed the second supervised personally the construction of all the walls linking to the various towers and also at the sea-side of the fortress. Rumeli Fortress has 5 main-gates and the walls are 5-15m. high, in Hisarpeçe about 3,50m. high. Over the walls, there are ways which are separated by small towers. They are 5-15m. high. There are 15 subordinate towers some of which are in the fortress, big, medium-small and in different shapes. The tower of Saruca Pasha has 7 floors, the walls are 28,00m. high, 28,30 wide, 9m. thick. The tower of Zaganos Pasha has 5 floors, 28,00m. high 28,30m. Wide the walls are 6,80m. thick. The tower of Çandarlı Halil Pasha has 8 floors the cellar and the basement 33,m high 22m. wide the walls are 6,50m. thick. Ebulfeth Mosque which was constructed by Sultan Mehmed and which exists on the Byzantine cisterns ruins remain in the middle of the fortress was fallen-down after the burn in 1907, The Rumeli Fortress covers an area of 30,000m2, in its court’s cannons of the xvıı-xıx the centries and stone cannonballs are exhibited.


  • What are The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) opening hours?

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) is open every day except Wednesday.

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) Visit Hours

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) Winter  Season: Between October 3rd – April 14th

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) is open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) Summer Season: Between April 15th – October 21th

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) is open daily from 9 am to 7 pm.


  • How much does it cost to enter The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum)?

The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) Entrance Fee: 15,00 TL


  • How do I get to The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) by Public Transport? (by Bus, Metro, Tram, Train, Ferry, Cable Car, Car)

BY MOOVIT

BY GOOGLE

Address YAHYA KEMAL AVE. SARIYER / İSTANBUL
Locationhttps://goo.gl/maps/WFZNAqZKiHz

  • The Fortress of Rumeli (Rumelihisarı Museum) Photos

Bir cevap yazın

E-posta hesabınız yayımlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir